English Version Myanmar Version
  National Reconciliation and Peace Initiatives
  Myanmar Passport
and Citizen Services
  eVisa for Tourists
(The only official external link where you can apply eVisa. Beware of fraudulent sites)
  Press Releases  
  Recent Embassy Announcements  
  Doing Business in Myanmar  
  Contact Us  
  Telephone inquiries

(202)332-3344; 332-4350

Consular (visa and passport):
(202)332-4352; 238-9332

Economic Attache:
  Myanmar Missions Abroad  
  Ministries in Myanmar  
  Myanmar-US Relations  
  Video Gallery  

Guide for Myanmar visa applicants


Visa processing time is minimum three business days, if the required information and documents are correctly provided by the applicants.

U.S applicants may send in their application to any of the three Myanmar diplomatic missions, located in Washington, DC, New York and Los Angeles, regardless of where they live. Or, they may choose to apply in person at a particular mission designated to cover their state or territory. Click here for consular service coverage area for each Myanmar diplomatic mission.


Following visa types are currently available; click on desired link to download application. (Effective 12 December 2016, the visa fees and duration of stay have changed. Click here for details.)

Gratis Diplomatic / Official Courtesy Visa


Employment Visa

Journalist Visa

Official Visa


Social Visa

Crew Visa

Tourist Visa


Religious Visa


Meeting/Research Visa

Business Visa

Education Visa

Transit Visa


On-arrival Visa (Direct download from Myanmar Immigration authorities)



Payment of Visa Fees and Mail Services

Payment of Visa fees must be provided with Money Order. Payment arranged through Credit Card/ Personal Check/ Cash is not accepted.  
Applicants usually apply Entry Visa attached with their Passports and documents by using USPS/ FedEx/ P.O Box mailing address.  
Visa Section suggests that applicants shall note the tracking number of their envelopes used and submitted by using either FedEx or Express mail. In case of urgent, FedEx Overnight mail should be used.  
Visa Section also suggests that applicants should notice the delay or loss of valuable documents due to the quality of stamps in the mail by using the P.O. Box mailing address.  

Permission of Entry into and Departure from Myanmar-Thai Border Gates

Under the agreement between the Union of Myanmar Government and the Government of the Kingdom of Thailand, the following border entrances/ exits have been designated as international entrances/ exits with effect from 0800 hours on the 28th August 2013(Wednesday), and those Myanmar and Thai citizens as well as Third country citizens holding valid passport with visa will be permitted to enter and depart from Myanmar.
(a) Tachilek - Maisai  
(b) Myawaddy - Mesok  
(c) Htee Kee - Phunaron  
(d) Kawthoung - Ranong  
Those who enter/ depart from the aforesaid International entrance/ exits will be permitted to enter/ depart from any International entrance/ exits of Myanmar; Nay Pyi Taw International Airport, Yangon International Airport, Mandalay International Airport, Tachilek, Myawaddy, Htee Kee and Kawthoung.
Regarding the permit of stay, extension of stay and the visa fees, the rules and regulation are the same as before depending on the type of visa for which application has been made to be able to enter Myanmar.
Under the current circumstances, Visa On Arrival is not issued yet at the international entrances/ exits as mentioned in the paragraph(1).
The Visitors are permitted to travel everywhere except the restricted areas designated by the Ministry of Home Affair in its Notification 77/2013 issued on 15-1-2013 (The list of restricted areas is available at border entrances / exits) .